More Thoughts on Writing … and on Retirement


I was assured that I would have plenty of time after retirement to write and get other things done that I just couldn’t find or make the time to get done before retirement. So now I’m getting eMail from friends who want to know if I’m still writing, and my wife asks when I’m going to get back to my writing and get out that promised “Great American Novel”.

"Great American Novels"

Then the next thing we do is shop, go to Kaiser or buy gas, and get lost in Roseville trying to get from one of the above to any of the others. Apparently the roads in Roseville are laid out diagonally.

Somehow I’m going to have to set myself a couple of hours each day just to work on my writing, Bible study, and men’s group work.

I’d rather just sleep late, do crossword puzzles and wonder where the time has gone. I need something to give me a “kick in the pants” to get things done. (Heck! I need help getting things started at this point.)

Tomorrow I have plans to do my first “typescript” of my writing toward first edit and proofreading. This will give me the opportunity to fill in some details, and get the back story written. I have it in my head, and my characters are trying to let me know what comes next in the narrative. I’m anxious to find out.

I’ve always started a story with a single sentence and then gone on from there. Some of this has gotten edited out in later versions, but it gives me a “frame” to hang the rest of the story from.

You may do this totally differently – even make an outline first – but “whatever works for you” is the way to keep doing it. If you have a “proven” method of getting from the beginning to the end of your story I have little advice to give.

If you’ve really never been able to put your ideas down on paper in some order with a beginning, middle, and an end then you may want to find a good website – like Tilden Editing Services profile on LinkedIn or Home Page to give you some advice.

With that I wish you all the best at your current project.

About Wayne

While I don't claim to be any wiser than the next guy, I do want to write blogs which will make you think. Therefore, I try to put a lot of thought into each one and give you room to ponder and ruminate on the topic(s) I write. As you read, I invite you to comment on what I have written about. My word is NEVER the final word on anything - regardless of what I'd like to think - and I'm always willing to hear comment and feedback. With all that having been said; Let's read, let's write. Blessings, >Wayne View all posts by Wayne

Leave a Reply

